Body
Collaborating on (AKA sharing) a project in Qualtrics is necessary if 2 or more users will both need to edit the questions or settings of a survey. If collaborative editing is not necessary, there are several alternative ways to share a survey or the results of a survey with others.
Collaborating Inside Your Organization
Once you have built your survey, within the project’s Survey tab, click Tools, then select Collaborate.
In the window that opens you will have 2 options
- Click User and Group Address Book. Another pop-up window will open. Search for the user by name or email address, then check the box next to their name and click "Add Selected". If you cannot find the user you are looking for, see "Can't find your Collaborator Listed?" below.
- Search for the user in the Search Bar by name or email address. Wait to see if the user is found.
- If user is found (name will be shown along with "([username]#framingham)"): When the name appears, click to select it, then click "Add Selected". This will open up a window prompting you to "invite" the user. The user will receive an email notification, but also the survey will immediately be available to them in Projects>Shared survey (possibly after a page/account refresh).
- If user is not found: see see "Can't find your Collaborator Listed?" below.
After doing either method, you should see the users listed. You must then click "Save" at the bottom of this window.
See this video demonstration of two methods (3.5min), with possible mistakes illustrated.
Can't find your Collaborator Listed?
Even if a user is part of your organization, you may not find them when searching if they have never logged into Qualtrics before. If you do not see your collaborator listed, even though you know they are in your organization, just type their full email address and invite them. They will receive the email notification, and their account will be created upon logging in for the first time. The email will also contain a Collaboration Code. The user must enter the collaboration code (in Projects>Shared with Me) in order to access the survey. The next time you share survey with this user, they will have a Qualtrics account, and will not need to go through this process.
See the Following User Guides from Qualtrics for more information:
Collaborating Outside Your Organization
The instructions are for sharing are similar: Once you have built your survey, within the project’s Survey tab, click Tools, then select Collaborate. Type email address into the search bar (they will not appear in the search) and just click Add Selected. You will be given the opportunity to write an optional message to them. This message will be included in an email notification. Click Invite.
The collaborator will receive an email with a collaboration code. The collaborator will then log in to their Qualtrics account. The should then navigate to Projects and select the Shared with Me. At the top right of the Shared with Me page, click Enter Collaboration Code, then enter the code in the pop-up window. Now the survey will appear in their Shared with Me folder. See attached pdf for screenshots.
Note: You will need to have at least one project already in your account to see the Shared with me folder.
See the Following User Guides from Qualtrics for more information:
Alternatives to Collaboration
In many cases, collaboration is not necessary. If you simply want to view the questions of a survey, or the results, but not edit them in any way, there are a few simpler and more secure options:
- View Survey: Share preview link
- View Survey Questions: Export Survey as a Word Document. This could be a useful option if you have asked your students to create a Qualtrics survey and you would like them to submit the questions for feedback and grading through Canvas.
- View Results: Export Response Data. If your collaborator has completed a survey, and the two of you would like to work together on analyzing the results, perhaps using a third-party tool such as SPSS or Excel, this is the easiest way to do this. The original response data will remain secure and unchanged in the collaborator's account.
- View Results: Public Reports. You can publish a report to the web. Your associates won’t need to have a Qualtrics account to view the reports; they’ll just need the link you provide. The report will update whenever new responses come in. You can also password protect this web page.